Indianapolis – 2000 Olympian Sean Townsend, 22, (Houston, Texas) won the all-around title Friday evening at the U.S. Gymnastics Championships scoring 109.200, a combined score from Wednesday’s preliminary round of competition.

“It was a battle out there but I hung in there and did my job,” said Townsend. “It hasn’t really set in yet that I’m national champion yet, but it’s awesome. I’ve accomplished one of my major goals.”

Brett McClure
, 20, (Mill Creek, Wash.) finished second in the all-around with a combined score of 107.775.
Finishing in third place was 2000 Olympian Stephen McCain, 27, (Houston, Texas) with a score of 105.000. McCain was in 10th place after the preliminaries, but climbed into the top five after the first rotation.
Townsend scored a 9.600 on rings, the highest score of the evening.

2001 World Championship Team

Townsend, McClure and McCain were named to the 2001 World Championship Team along with Raj Bhavsar (Houston, Texas), Guard Young (Provo, Utah) and Paul Hamm (Waukesha, Wis.). The squad will represent the United States at the World Championships, October 28-November 4 in Ghent, Belgium. Alternates for the team include Todd Thornton (Houston, Texas), Jason Furr (Woodbridge, Va.) and Daniel Diaz-Luong (Harrisburg, Pa.).

2001-2002 National Teams

National team members were named this evening in both the junior and senior men’s divisions. Following are the 2001-2002 national team members.

Senior National Team

Sean Townsend/Houston, Texas
Brett McClure/Mill Creek, Wash.
Stephen McCain/Houston, Texas
Raj Bhavsar/Houston, Texas
Guard Young/Provo, Utah
Jason Furr/Woodbridge, Va.
Todd Thornton/Houston, Texas
Daniel Diaz-Luong/Harrisburg, Pa.
Kris Zimmerman/Winnetka, Ill.
Sanjuan Jones/Tallahassee, Fla.
Mike Dutka/Fairless Hills, Pa.
Paul Hamm/Waukesha, Wis.

Junior Elite National Team (16-18)
D.J. Bucher/Cincinnati, Ohio
Jamie Henderson/Kansas City, Mo.
Zach Roberts/San Diego, Calif.
Charlie Jones/Denver, Colo.
Stephen Gaudette/Springfield, Mass.
Michael McNamara/Carlsbad, Calif.
Gerry Signorelli/Colorado Springs, Colo.

Junior Elite National Team (14-15)
Willie Ito/Huntington Beach, Calif.
Aaron Rakes/Lexington, Ky.
Anthony Smith/Cupertino, Calif.
Tyler Yamauchi/Houston, Texas
Grant Osborne/San Diego, Calif.
R.J. Heflin/Norfolk, Mass.