© Craig Pessman/Illinois Athletics

Courtesy Illinois Athletics

2008 Olympic medalist Justin Spring and 20 other Illinois greats made up the second class of inductees into the Illinois Athletics Hall of Fame. The induction ceremony took place over the weekend at State Farm Center in Champaign, Ill.

Some of the greatest names in Fighting Illini history comprise the 21-person Class of 2018. Twelve of the 14 living honorees were on hand for the induction ceremony: Nancy Brookhart Cherin, Dave Downey, Darrin Fletcher, Kendall Gill, Jim Grabowski, Lou Henson, Dana Howard, Tara Hurless, Celena Mondie-Milner, Justin Spring, Tonya Williams and Willie Williams.

Unable to attend the ceremony due to competition were Kevin Anderson (MTEN) and Scott Langley (MGOLF). Deceased members of the 2018 class include Alex Agase, Charles Carney, Ray Eliot, Maxwell Garret, John “Red” Kerr, Charles Pond and Joe Sapora.

The induction ceremony, hosted by Illinois alumnus Ryan Baker, was an opportunity for the greatest Illini student-athletes to tell stories from their college days and to thank those that helped them along the way.

Click here for more information and photos from the ceremony.