INDIANAPOLIS, Ind., Oct. 19, 2015 – Former Double Mini National Team Member and Clarion University diver Kristin Day (Reynoldsville/Dubois) was named the 2015 NCAA Woman of the Year at the 2015 NCAA W.O.T.Y. Awards ceremony on Oct. 18 at the Westin – Indianapolis. Announcing her as the winner was ESPN’s MLB Color Analyst and former USA softball Gold Medal winner Jessica Mendoza who was the Emcee for the 25th Annual ceremony.

“I was so shocked – and ecstatic at the same time when she called my name,” said Day from Indianapolis. “What an unbelievable feeling that all of that hard work and sacrifice has paid off like this. I want to thank my parents, especially my mom who has been there for me every step of the way – and my grandma too. She’s been to every meet. I also want to thank my coach, Dave Hrovat, who prepared me in ways that I have never been before. I learned true sportsmanship and how to deal with both victory and defeat. It has prepared me well for my future.”

Day is the first winner of the NCAA Woman of the Year Award from any Pennsylvania based university, quite an honor for Clarion University and the State of Pennsylvania. Day is only the fourth NCAA D-II Athlete honored with this award.

A three-time NCAA Division II National Champion diver in her career, Day graduated from Clarion in May with a perfect 4.0 gpa while completing 153 credits. She earned a degree in Chemistry with a concentration in Biochemistry. She is current enrolled in medical school at LECOM on an NCAA Post-Graduate Scholarship.

“What a great night for Kristin Day – and for Clarion University,” said a proud Clarion President Dr. Karen M. Whitney. “Tonight we not only celebrate her award, but especially what the award stands for. Her accomplishments in the classroom, in community service and as a national champion diver show Kristin’s commitment to personal excellence in everything she does. We congratulate her on this great honor and know she is the epitome of Courageous. Confident. Clarion.”

Day, who is currently attending medical school at LECOM (Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine) on an NCAA Post-Graduate scholarship, is one of the most decorated athletes that have ever attended Clarion. Named in July as the Capital One NCAA D-II Academic all-America of the Year, she was a two time At-Large Academic All-America of the Year (2015, 2014), the PSAC Pete Nevins Scholar Athlete of the Year, the NCAA D-II “Elite 89” award winner at swimming nationals, a three-time NCAA Division II National Champion and 8-time career All-American. She won the NCAA D-II one meter national title this year (2015) with 506.85 points, while finishing 4th on 3 meter 512.20 points. In 2014 she won both NCAA championships in dominating fashion. She won the 3 meter springboard title setting a new NCAA record with 539.35 points, winning the event by 52.9 points. She followed that with a 1 meter national title scoring 497.05 points, winning by 30.2 points. For her efforts she was named the CSCAA NCAA D-II Female “Diver of the Year”.

Kristin finished third on the three meter board with 491.70 points and 5th on 1 meter with 449.90 points in 2013. In 2012 she was second on three meter scoring 484.75 points and fourth on one meter scoring 495.70 points.

Day, a May, 2015 graduate with a degree in Chemistry and a concentration in Biochemistry, earned 153 credits at Clarion University with a perfect 4.0 gpa. She is the daughter of Dennis and Susan Day of Reynoldsville, Pa., Kristin is a 4-time Clarion and PSAC Scholar Athlete, plus a two-time Spring Top 10 PSAC award winner.

“This is a great honor for Kristin – we are so proud of her and what she has accomplished” said Clarion athletic director Dave Katis. “She represents what is best about our student athletes at Clarion and the reputation our athletes have exemplified over the years. Everyone here is Clarion proud tonight!.”

Day competed at two Trampoline & Tumbling National Championships, placing fifth in double mini in 2012. She also placed third in the 17-18 age group at the 2011 World Age Group Competitions.

The NCAA Woman of the Year program honors the academic achievements, athletics excellence, community service and leadership of graduating female college athletes from all three divisions. To be eligible nominees must have completed eligibility in their primary sport. The NCAA Woman of the Year selection committee selects the Top 30 – 10 from each division and then three finalists from each division. The Committee on Women’s Athletics selects the winner from the Top 9. for a list of past winners, click here.

The 2015 Finalists for NCAA Woman of the Year
Kristin Day/Clarion – swimming and diving (the only honoree to earn a perfect GPA in college)
Supriya Davis/Swarthmore College – swimming and diving
Margo Geer/University of Arizona – swimming and diving
Kelsey Graham/Wheaton College (Illinois) – soccer
Margaret MacPhail/DePauw University – tennis
Colleen Quigley/Florida State University – cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field
Zoe Scandalis/University of Southern California – tennis
Taylor Skala/Rockhurst University – soccer; basketball
Rebecka Surtevall/Arkansas Tech – golf