Brittany Johnson from Texas Woman’s University
© TWU Athletics

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind., April 19, 2010 – Brittany Johnson of Texas Woman’s University leads first team all-America honors with four in the annual USA Gymnastics women’s collegiate postseason awards. The 2010 award winners were announced at the 2010 USA Gymnastics Women’s Collegiate Championships in Denton, Texas.

Johnson earned first team all-America honors on vault, uneven bars, balance beam, and all-around. The University of Bridgeport and TWU each had 12 gymnasts receive all-America honors.

The other 2010 award winners included Rutgers University’ Laura Sevarino, Outstanding Senior Athlete of the Year; TWU’s Kristin Edwards, Mari-Rae Soper Spirit award; Cornell University’s Melanie Dilliplane, Assistant Coach of the Year; and Bridgeport’s Byron Knox, Head Coach of the Year.

The Outstanding Senior Athlete of the Year is presented to the top senior all-around competitor from the team semifinals competition. The Mari-Rae Soper Spirit award is given to the gymnast in recognition of their passion, dedication, and devotion to the sport of gymnastics.

All gymnasts that competed in the individual event finals received First Team All-America honors and the gymnasts that qualified as an alternate but did not compete received Second Team All-America honors. The top-eight all-around finishers were named First Team All-American and the ninth and 10th place finishers received Second Team honors.