INDIANAPOLIS, Aug. 10, 2005 – On Saturday, Aug. 13, USA Gymnastics is honoring its 2004 Olympians, who collectively engineered USA gymnastics’ largest medal haul in a non-boycotted Olympics. The 19 members of the 2004 Olympic Gymnastics Team will step on the Visa Championships’ podium one more time, this time to receive accolades and recognition from the gymnastics community and its fans.

“We are expecting to have all of our 2004 Olympians with us on Saturday,” said Steve Penny, president of USA Gymnastics. “This is really USA Gymnastics’ first chance to pay tribute to this talented group of athletes in front of our entire gymnastics community. They have been incredible ambassadors for our sport, and we are proud to bring them to Indy to help celebrate the fantastic moments they provided America last summer.”
The men’s and women’s artistic gymnastics teams claimed two gold, six silver and one bronze medal in Athens. Paul Hamm and Carly Patterson won the all-around gold medals and helped their teams to earn the silver medal. Individually, Hamm also captured the silver medal in the high bar; Patterson took the silver medal in the beam; Terin Humphrey and Annia Hatch took the silver medal in the uneven bars and vault, respectively; and Courtney Kupets earned the bronze medal on the uneven bars.
The 2004 women’s squad was comprised of: Mohini Bhardwaj, Courtney McCool, Hatch, Humphrey, Kupets and Patterson, with Allyse Ishino, Chellsie Memmel and Tasha Schwikert as alternates. In addition to Hamm, the men’s team members were: Jason Gatson, Morgan Hamm, Brett McClure, Blaine Wilson, Guard Young, with Raj Bhavsar and Steve McCain as alternates. Mary Sanders competed in rhythmic gymnastics, while Jennifer Parilla participated in trampoline.
The teams will be recognized on the competition floor at Conseco Fieldhouse at the conclusion of the women’s competition and receive a specially engraved Waterford crystal vase commemorating their accomplishments in 2004.