INDIANAPOLIS, Ind., Aug. 25, 2005 – Following the conclusion of the 2005 Visa Championships, USA Gymnastics has announced its national teams for men’s and women’s artistic gymnastics, rhythmic gymnastics and acrobatic gymnastics. The national teams for trampoline and tumbling will be announced in January 2006.
When combining all teams together, California has the largest representation at 25 athletes, with half coming from acrobatic gymnastics. Texas follows with 10 athletes and then Illinois at eight. Florida and Ohio both have six gymnasts, and Colorado, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York and Virginia weigh in with three each.
The national teams for women’s artistic and rhythmic gymnastics were determined directly from the results of the 2005 Visa Championships. For men’s artistic gymnastics, the senior men’s team was determined through performances at the Visa Championships and a selection committee, while the junior teams were strictly by the results. Acrobatic gymnastics used a combination of performances at the 2005 Acrobatic Gymnastics National Championships and its National Team Trials, which were held in conjunction with the 2005 Visa Championships, and input from the selection committee.
Athletes who will represent the United States for the remainder of 2005 and the first eight months of 2006 will be chosen from this pool.

NOTE: Trampoline and tumbling will not name its national team until January 2006. All team members are listed alphabetically.

Women’s national team

Senior national team
    Jana Bieger, Coconut Creek, Fla./Twisters Gymnastics Academy
    Kristina Comforte, Burr Ridge, Ill./Illinois Gymnastics Institute
    Annie DiLuzio, Folsom, Calif./Byers Gymnastics Center
    Kayla Hoffman, Union, N.J./Rebound Gymnastics
    Jacquelyn Johnson, Westchester, Ohio/Cincinnati Gymnastics Academy
    Nastia Liukin, Plano, Texas/World Olympic Gymnastics Academy
    Hilary Mauro, Westchester, Ohio/Cincinnati Gymnastics Academy
    Brittani McCullough, Corona, Calif./Southern California Elite Gymnastics Academy
    Chellsie Memmel, West Allis, Wis./M&M Gymnastics
    Kassi Price, Plantation, Fla./Orlando Metro
    Alicia Sacramone, Winchester, Mass./Brestyan’s American Gymnastics
    Sarah Shire, Sweet Springs, Mo./Great American Gymnastic Express

Junior national team

    Cortni Beers, Tulsa, Okla./Krafft Academy
    Rebecca Bross, Ann Arbor, Mich./World Olympic Gymnastics
    Sarah DeMeo, Overland Park, Kan./Great American Gymnastics Express
    Morgan Evans, Norfolk, Va./Excalibur Gymnastics
    Bianca Flohr, Creston, Ohio/FLYTZ
    Ivana Hong, Laguna Hills, Calif./Great American Gymnastics Express
    Shawn Johnson, Des Moines, Iowa/Chow’s Gymnastics
    Natasha Kelley, Houston Texas/Brown’s Gymnastics
    Shantessa Pama, Dana Point, Calif./Gym-Max Gymnastics
    Samantha Peszek, McCordsville, Ind./Deveau’s Gymnastics
    Monica Shoji, Boston, Mass./Cincinnati Gymnastics Academy
    Bridget Sloan, Pittsboro, Ind./Sharp’s
    Randy Stageberg, Chesapeake, Va./Excalibur Gymnastics
    Makayla Stambaugh, Sacramento, Calif./Byers
    Amber Trani, Richlandtown, Pa./Parkettes
    Shayla Worley, Orlando, Fla./Orlando Metro Gymnastics

Men’s national team

Senior national team
    Guillermo Alvarez, Denver Colo./Team Chevron
    Alexander Artemev, Lakewood, Colo./Team Chevron
    Raj Bhavsar, Columbus, Ohio /Team Chevron
    D.J. Bucher, Mason, Ohio/Ohio State University
    David Durante, Garwood, N.J./Team Chevron
    Jason Gatson, Mesa, Ariz./Team Chevron
    Sean Golden, Houston, Texas/Houston Gymnastics Academy
    Jamie Henderson, University of Oklahoma, Houston
    Joseph Hagerty, Albuquerque, N.M./Team Chevron
    Jonathan Horton, Houston/University of Oklahoma
    Brett McClure, Mill Creek, Wash./Team Chevron
    David Sender, Arlington Heights, Ill./Stanford University
    Justin Spring, Burke, Va./University of Illinois
    Todd Thornton, Pearland, Texas/Team Chevron
    Yewki Tomita, Tucson, Ariz./Team Chevron

Junior national team (16-18)

    André Berry, Waller, Texas /Cypress Academy
    Kyson Bunthuwong, El Cerrito, Calif./Golden Bear Gymnastics
    Jason Chu, Bellflower, Calif./SCATS-HB
    Bryan Del Castillo, South Coast Gymnastics, Laguna Niguel, Calif.
    Seung Tai Lee, Sorrento, Fla./Orlando Metro Gymnastics
    Christopher Lung, Lexington, Mass./Mass Gym Center
    Ralph Rosso, Marlboro, N.J./Surgent’s Elite
    Cole Storer, Plano, Texas/World Olympic Gymnastics Academy

Junior national team (14-15)

    Kyle Bunthuwong, El Cerrito, Calif./Golden Bear Gymnastics
    Tim Gentry, Plano, Texas/World Olympic Gymnastics Academy
    Thomas Kelley, Libertyville, Illinois/Buffalo Grove Gymnastics