Michael Devine
© Todd Bissonette

BUENOS AIRES, Argentina, Dec. 5, 2008 – Ten U.S. athletes advanced to the senior division finals at the 2008 Pan American Trampoline and Tumbling Championships in Buenos Aires, Argentina. The USA also claimed two gold medals in the age-group trampoline competition.

Michael Devine of Winnebago, Ill./J & J Tumbling and Trampoline, and Logan Dooley of Lake Forest, Calif./World Elite Gymnastics, advanced in senior men’s trampoline, and Alaina Hebert of Broussard, La./World Elite Gymnastics, and Nani Vercruyssen of Honolulu, Hawaii/Hawaii Academy, qualified for the women. Scores and places are not available at this time.

Kalon Ludvigson of Sterling, Utah/Team Revolution, qualified in first place in senior men’s tumbling with a score of 72.40, followed by Canada’s Alexander Seifert with a 68.70. Leanne Seitzinger of Stafford, Va./Novak’s Gymnastics, leads senior women’s tumbling with a 64.10, followed by Canada’s Tasia Durante in second with a 60.30 and Amy McDonald of Richardson, Texas/Eagle’s Wings Athletics, in third with a score of 59.30.

Austin White of Irvine, Calif./World Elite Gymnastics, and Ludvigson are second and fourth, respectively, in senior men’s double mini-trampoline with scores of 70.80 and 70.70. Canada’s Seifert is first with a 72.10. Sarah Prosen of Apple Valley Minn./Gleason’s Gypsy Flyers, is second with a 67.60 and Aubree Balkan of Carlsbad, Calif./GTC Academy, is third with a 67.30 heading into the finals for senior women’s double mini. Canada’s Julie Warnock is first with a score of 70.00. Also competing but not advancing to finals were Steven Gluckstein of Atlantic Highlands, N.J./Ultra Twisters, and Alaina Williams of Amarillo, Texas/The Matrix Trampoline Team.

Senior team finals are Dec. 6 and senior finals for trampoline, synchronized trampoline, tumbling and double mini are Dec. 7.

In the age-group competition, Jeffrey Gluckstein of Atlantic Highlands, N.J./Ultra Twisters, won the gold medal in 15-16 year-old men’s trampoline with a score of 36.80. Brazil’s Rodrigo Pacheco earned the silver medal with a 35.00, followed by Canada’s Vincent Ng with a 34.20. Conor Murphy of Lake Forest, Calif./Team OC, finished eighth. In 15-16 year-old women’s trampoline, Dakota Earnest of Plains, Texas/Acrospirits, won the gold medal with a score of 31.40 with Brazil’s Olivia Borto Lazzo in second at 30.90 and Brazil’s Mariana De Aquino in third at 30.00. Lisa Van Orden of Pingree, Idaho/Team Revolution, finished 5th.

Qualifying for finals in the age-group competition were: Jake Jacobson of Rocklin, Calif./American Powerhouse T&T, 11-12 year-old men’s trampoline; Van Orden, 15-16 women’s double mini; and Murphy, 15-16 men’s double mini.

The remaining schedule for the age-group competition is: Dec. 5 – qualification and finals for 11-12 year-old trampoline and synchronized trampoline, 13-14 year-old tumbling and 15-16 year-old double mini; and Dec. 6 – qualification and finals for 11-12 year-old double mini, 13-14 year-old trampoline and synchronized trampoline, and 15-16 year-old tumbling.