Peter Vidmar, Peter Dodd, Kelli Hill, Tom Meadows

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind., Dec. 13, 2012 – 1984 Olympic gold-medalist Peter Vidmar of San Clemente, Calif., will serve a second term chairman of USA Gymnastics Board of Directors, which was determined during the Board’s recent meeting in Indianapolis, Ind. Three new representatives for the disciplines were elected to the Board: Peter Dodd of Mission Viejo, Calif./World Elite Gymnastics, trampoline and tumbling; Kelli Hill of Gaithersburg, Md./Hill’s Gymnastics, women’s gymnastics; and Tom Meadows of Houston/Cypress Gymnastics, men’s gymnastics (by acclamation). Jay Binder of Mandeville, La., acrobatic gymnastics, and Brooke Toohey of Lake Placid, N.Y., rhythmic gymnastics, were elected to a second term by acclamation.

Last month, Vidmar was elected to the Executive Committee of the International Gymnastics Federation (FIG), and, during this first term, was a strong proponent for USA Gymnastics employing best practices, especially in the areas of athlete safety and member misconduct.

"I am honored to serve a second term as the Board president," said Vidmar, who was named to the office in 2008. "USA Gymnastics has a lot to be proud of, both on and off the field of play, and I look forward to working with the Board and staff to continue our efforts to make USA Gymnastics the best it can be on every front. 2012 was an incredible year, and we look to build on that success in the coming quadrennium."

In addition to Vidmar, the three other officers also will remain on the Board: Paul Parilla of Lake Forest, Calif., and Jim Morris of Indianapolis, Ind., were confirmed as vice chairman and treasurer, respectively, at the meeting; and Gary Anderson of Hillsboro, Fla., had his term as secretary extended last year. The USA Gymnastics Board of Directors has 20 members: two representatives from both the men’s and women’s programs; one each from rhythmic gymnastics, acrobatic gymnastics and trampoline/tumbling; three representatives from the Advisory Council; five athletes (one per discipline); four public sector members; and the chairman of the board.

Tom Koll of Omaha, Neb., women’s gymnastics, and Yoichi Tomita of Tucson, Ariz., men’s gymnastics, both are serving terms through 2014. The athlete representatives are: Karl Heger of Rockford, Ill., trampoline and tumbling; Jessica Howard of New York City, rhythmic gymnastics; Terin Humphrey of Raymore, Mo., women’s gymnastics; John Roethlisberger of Knoxville, Tenn., men’s gymnastics; and Michael Rodrigues of Livermore, Calif., acrobatic gymnastics.

The four public sector members will also remain on the Board: 1984 Olympic champ Mary Lou Retton of Houston; Bitsy Kelley of Longmont, Colo., Outrigger Activities/Bitsy Kelley Outdoors; Frank Marshall of Santa Monica, Calif., entertainment producer; and Morris, Pacers Sports & Entertainment. The complete Board is listed below.

Chaired by Casey Koenig of the YMCA, the Advisory Council represents constituent membership groups from the gymnastics community and has three representatives on the Board: Mike Burns of Minneapolis/U.S. Elite Coaches Association – Men; Ron Ferris of Austintown, Ohio/Amateur Athletic Union; and Carole Ide of Hilton Head, S.C./National Association of Women’s Gymnastics Judges. The organizations on the Advisory Council are: Amateur Athletic Union; American Sokol Organization; American Turners; College Gymnastics Association – Men; Jewish Community Centers; National Association of Collegiate Coaches – Women; National Association of Girls and Women in Sport; National Association of Women’s Gymnastics Judges; National Collegiate Athletic Association – men; National Collegiate Athletic Association – women; National Federation of State High School Associations; National Gymnastics Judges Association – Men; National High School Gymnastics Association; Special Olympics; U.S. Association of Independent Gymnastics Clubs; U.S. Competitive Aerobics Federation; U.S. Elite Coaches Association – Men; U.S. Elite Coaches Association – Women; U.S. Men’s Gymnastics Coaches Association; U.S. Rhythmic Gymnastics Coaches Association; and YMCA.

USA Gymnastics Board of Directors

Chairman: Peter Vidmar, San Clemente, Calif.
Vice chairman: Paul Parilla, Lake Forest, Calif. (non voting position)
Secretary: Gary Anderson, Hillsboro Beach, Fla. (non-voting position)
Treasurer: Jim Morris, Indianapolis, Ind.
National Membership Directors

    Kelli Hill, Gaithersburg, Md., women
    Tom Koll, Omaha, Neb., women
    Tom Meadows, Houston, men
    Yoichi Tomita, Tucson, Ariz., men
    Brooke Bushnell Toohey, Lake Placid, N.Y., rhythmic gymnastics
    Jay Binder, Mandeville, La., acrobatic gymnastics
    Peter Dodd, Mission Viejo, Calif., trampoline and tumbling

Advisory Council Directors

    Mike Burns, Minneapolis, Minn.
    Ron Ferris, Austintown, Ohio
    Carole Ide, Hilton Head, S.C.

Athlete Directors

    Karl Heger, Rockford, Ill., trampoline and tumbling
    Jessica Howard, New York, N.Y., rhythmic gymnastics
    Terin Humphrey, Raymore, Mo., women
    John Roethlisberger, Knoxville, Tenn., men
    Michael Rodrigues, Livermore, Calif., acrobatic gymnastics

Public Sector Directors

    Bitsy Kelley, Outrigger Activities/Bitsy Kelley Outdoors, Longmont, Colo.
    Frank Marshall, entertainment producer, Santa Monica, Calif.
    Jim Morris, Pacers Sports & Entertainment, Indianapolis, Ind.
    Mary Lou Retton, former Olympic champion and motivational speaker, Houston