CINCINNATI, Ohio, May 12, 2018 – All-around champions for the Junior A, Junior B, Junior C, Senior A, Senior B and Senior C divisions were crowned today at the 2018 Women’s Junior Olympic National Championships at the Duke Energy Convention Center in Cincinnati, Ohio. Level 10 is the highest level in the Junior Olympic program, which is just under the elite level. Competition wraps up on Sunday, May 13.

The top three in each division are as follows.

  • Junior A: 1. Amari Drayton of Lakeway, Texas/Olympia Hills Gymnastics, 38.325; 2. Kailin Chio of Henderson, Nev./Gymcats Gymnastics, 38.200; 3. Ui Soma of Honolulu, Hawaii/San Mateo Gymnastics, 37.925.
  • Junior B: 1. Gabriella Disidore of Overland Park, Kansas/GAGE, 38.300; 2. Gabby Gladieux of Greensboro, N.C./High Point Gymnastics Academy, 38.200; 3. Lillian Lewis of Dublin, Calif./San Mateo Gymnastics, 37.925.
  • Junior C: 1. Faith Torrez of Kenosha, Wis./Legacy Elite Gymnastics, 38.525; 2. Karis German of Spring, Texas/World Champions Centre, 38.450; 3. Naya Howard of Chesapeake, Va./Ocean Tumblers Gymnastics, 38.275.
  • Senior A: 1t. Carly Bauman of West Des Moines, Iowa/Chow’s Gymnastics and Dance Institute, and Kiya Johnson of Desoto, Texas/Texas Dreams Gymnastics, 38.625; 3. Haleigh Bryant of Cornelius, N.C./Everest Gymnastics, 38.550.
  • Senior B: 1. Andrea Li of Aurora, Ill./Legacy Elite Gymnastics LLC, 38.850; 2. Jaedyn Rucker of Mesa, Ariz./Desert Devils, 38.675; 3. Sierra Brooks of Plainfield, Ill./Aspire Gymnastics Academy, 38.425.
  • Senior C: 1. Gabryel Wilson of Ypsilanti, Mich./Olympia Gymnastics Academy, 38.900; 2. Helen Hu of Chicago, Ill./IK Gymnastics, 38.875; 3. Matilyn Waligora of Rochester, Mich./Olympia Gymnastics Academy, 38.500.

In the team competition, Region 3 grabbed the title in the Junior A division while the team from Region 4 took top honors in Senior A. In the second session, Region 3 was victorious in the Junior B division and Region 5 was the Senior B team champion. In the final session of the day, Region 3 took the Junior C title and Region 5 grabbed the top spot in Senior C.

The Junior Olympic National Championships is the culmination event for the competitive season. The competition features 12 age divisions (Junior A, Junior B, Junior C, Junior D, Junior E, Junior F, Senior A, Senior B, Senior C, Senior D, Senior E and Senior F), which are determined by birth date. These gymnasts are vying to become Junior Olympic national champions in the all-around, as well as in all four events: vault, uneven bars, balance beam and floor exercise. For more information about the event, please visit

The competition schedule is as follows. Start and finish times are estimates that do not include the pre-competition warm-up.

Sunday, May 13
9 a.m.-12:30 p.m. – Session 4: Junior D and Senior D competition
1:45-5:15 p.m. – Session 5: Junior E and Senior E competition
6:30-10 p.m. – Session 6: Junior F and Senior F competition

All times are local. Champions are determined for each session. The winning regions will also be determined at the conclusion of the competition.

Tickets may be purchased online and onsite. Prices for competition day passes are: $25, Sunday; and free/children under 2.

USA Gymnastics is staging the event in conjunction with the Cincinnati Sports Commission.

USA Gymnastics has eight regions, and the top seven gymnasts from each region’s Regional Championships advance to nationals. The winning regions will also be determined at the conclusion of the competition. The top four all-around athletes in each age division qualify to the 2018 Junior Olympic National Team and are invited to attend a national training camp.

The states that comprise each region are: Region 1 — Arizona, California, Nevada, Utah; Region 2 – Alaska, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington; Region 3 – Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, Wyoming; Region 4 – Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin; Region 5 – Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio; Region 6 – Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont; Region 7 – Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia; and Region 8 – Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee.