© Ricardo Bufolin

MEDELLIN, Colombia, April 28, 2018 – Sydney Senter of Aiea, Hawaii/Hawaii Trampoline and Tumbling, won the junior trampoline individual gold medal today at the 2018 Pacific Rim Championships in Medellin, Colombia. Logan Gilbert of Paris, Texas/Texas Tumbling and Trampoline, added the silver medal in the junior men’s trampoline final.

Senter opened with a front full-half out to a tucked half-half before executing a tucked Triffus. She closed with a layout full-full to earn a 53.225 to win the gold medal. Miah Bruns of St. John, Ind./Midwest Training and Ice Center, began her routine with a piked Rudi out to a double back and closed with a piked half-half. She scored 51.755 which landed her in sixth place. Australia’s Britney Glazebrook won the silver at 52.125, followed by Japan’s Ena Sakurai (52.115).

In the men’s competition, Gilbert performed a piked Triffus to double back to tucked Triffus in his opening sequence. He earned a 55.300 to win the silver medal. Zachary Ramacci of St. John, Ind./ Midwest Training and Ice Center, closed out his 53.700-scoring routine with a half-Rudi and finished in fifth place. Japan’s Ryusei Nishioka took the top spot at 56.540, while Liam Christie of Australia won the bronze (54.920).

Jessica Stevens of Ellicott City, Md./Fairland Gymnastics, represented the United States in the senior women’s trampoline final. Stevens started her routine strongly – executing two Triffus variations – but then had to perform several single saltos to get through all ten elements. She scored a 48.105. Japan’s Rana Nakano and Reina Satake went one-two with scores of 54.640 and 54.500, respectively. Dafne Navarro was the bronze medalist, earning a 53.690 in the final.

In the senior men’s trampoline final, Isaac Rowley of Allen, Texas/Eagle Gymnastics Academy, was off to a strong start, completing three triple flipping elements to open his routine but then hit the end mat toward the end of his planned routine. He finished in seventh place with a 40.845. Yasuhiro Euyama of Japan won the gold medal with a 59.170, followed by Angel Hernandez of Colombia, 58.670, and Japan’s Ryohei Taniguchi with a 57.565.