© John Cheng

The 33rd Annual Thurman Munson Award recipients were announced and include: Aly Raisman, USA Olympic gold medal-winning gymnast; CC Sabathia, Yankees all-star pitcher; Chris Canty, New York Giants defensive tackle; Ike Davis, New York Mets first baseman; and Greg Anthony, former Knicks guard and current CBS Sports/YES Network basketball analyst. The AHRC New York City Foundation will present the awards on Tuesday night, February 5, at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City.

In addition, Yankees rookie pitcher David Phelps will receive the second annual “Rising Star” Award.

The awards remember the late, great Yankees catcher and captain Thurman Munson. Diana Munson, Thurman’s widow, will attend her 33rd straight benefit, having been involved since its inception, raising nearly $12 million to assist children and adults who have intellectual and developmental disabilities. The Thurman Munson Awards are presented for success on the field of play and philanthropic works off the field.

Raisman brought home Olympic gold from London in 2012; Sabathia is a six-time All-Star; former Cy Young Award recipient and Yankees World Series champion; Canty was a member of the Giants Super Bowl championship team last year; Anthony won the NCAA basketball championship at UNLV prior to a 12-year NBA career; and Davis led the Mets in home runs last season with 32, and is the son of Munson’s teammate Ron Davis.

The AHRC New York City Foundation is a not-for-profit organization that supports programs enabling children and adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities to lead richer, more productive lives, including programs of AHRC New York City. AHRC New York City is one of the largest organizations of its kind, serving 15,000 children and adults who have intellectual and developmental disabilities, including autism, cerebral palsy, traumatic brain injuries and other disabilities.

The list of notable sports legends previously honored with “Thurmans” includes: Muhammed Ali, Arthur Ashe, Yogi Berra, Mariano Rivera, Willis Reed, Walt Frazier, Earl Monroe, Patrick Ewing, Harry Carson, Jim Brown, Tom Seaver and Gary Carter just to name a few.