Jason Whitfield Invitational awards scholarships
posted on 03/16/2011

The 20th annual Jason Whitfield Invitational was held in Ann Arbor, Mich., March 12-13. Cathy and Jim Whitfield announced the 2011 Whitfield Foundation scholarship winners of $3,000 each are: Danell Leyva, Jesse Silverstein, John Orozco and Stacey Ervin. Three of the four scholarship winners attended the meet this year. The Whitfield Foundation was established after the death of Jason who died in a motorcycle accident in 1991 while pursuing his own gymnastic dreams. Thus far, the Whitfield Foundation has awarded a total of $180,500 to 67 male gymnasts from across the country.

Cathy and Jim Whitfield with scholarship recipients Jesse Silverstein, John Orozco and Stacey Ervin. Danell Leyva not pictured.