Drury finishes 12th in trampoline semi-final at Worlds
posted on 11/10/2013

SOFIA, Bulgaria, Nov. 10, 2013 – Charlotte Drury of Laguna Niguel, Calif./World Elite Gymnastics, finished 12th in the women’s semi-final at the 2013 World Trampoline and Tumbling Championships in Sofia, Bulgaria. The top eight, two per country, advanced to tonight’s final for which Drury is the second reserve. The U.S.’s Shaylee Dunavin of Amarillo, Texas/All-American, finished 15th. 

Competition concludes later today with finals for women's trampoline (6:30 p.m. Sofia/11:30 a.m. ET), and finals for men's and women's double-mini and tumbling, and men's synchronized trampoline (3:30 p.m. Sofia/8:30 a.m. ET). Fans in the United States can watch all of the action live on the USA Gymnastics YouTube channel.
 
Drury performed several variations of the Rudi out before ending with a double twisting, double layout. She posted a score of 52.535. Dunavin began with a tucked Triffus and later executed a rudi out and a full-full. She scored a 51.725.
 
 
USA Gymnastics will have coverage, photos and videos from Sofia on usagym.org, Facebook and YouTube. Additional information is available on the International Gymnastics Federation’s microsite, sofia2013.fig-gymnastics.com.
 
Trampoline events involve athletes using trampolines that can propel them up to 30 feet in the air, during which they can perform double and triple twisting somersaults. Tumbling utilizes elevated rod-floor runways that enable athletes to jump at heights more than 10 feet and execute a variety of acrobatic maneuvers. For the double-mini competition, the athlete makes a short run, leaps onto a small two-level trampoline, performs an aerial maneuver and dismounts onto a landing mat.  Trampoline was added to the Olympic Games in 2000, and at the 2012 Olympic Games in London, the USA had its first athlete in history advance to the finals.

 


Log in