Dooley advances to men's trampoline final
posted on 11/09/2013

 
SOFIA, Bulgaria, Nov. 9, 2013 – Logan Dooley of Lake Forest, Calif./World Elite Gymnastics, advanced to the men’s individual trampoline finals today at 2013 World Trampoline and Tumbling Championships in Sofia, Bulgaria. Dooley is the first U.S. man to qualify to the final in more than a decade.
 
Competition continues later tonight with the team finals for men’s and women’s double mini-trampoline and tumbling (5 p.m. Sofia/10 a.m. ET), women’s synchronized trampoline (7:30 p.m. Sofia/12:30 p.m. ET), and men’s individual trampoline (8 p.m. Sofia/1 p.m. ET). Fans in the United States can watch all of the action live on the USA Gymnastics YouTube channel.
 
Dooley performed a piked Triffus to start his routine, followed by a two consecutive tucked variations. He ended with a Miller (triple twisting, double layout) and bounced perfectly up and down on his out-bounce to finish. He earned a 57.150. He finishes in ninth but made the final when China’s Gao Lei was eliminated due to the two per country rule.
 
Steven Gluckstein of Atlantic Highlands, N.J./ETA, began his routine with three triple somersaults. Fist pumping after dismounting with a Miller, Gluckstein earned a 57.130, which was more than a point better than his score in qualification. Gluckstein finished 10th and is the first reserve athlete for the final.
 
 
The schedule for the World Championships, which conclude tomorrow, is semifinals and finals for women's trampoline (1:30 p.m. Sofia/6:30 a.m. ET, and 6:30 p.m. Sofia/11:30 a.m. ET), and finals for men's and women's double-mini and tumbling, and men's synchronized trampoline (3:30 p.m. Sofia/8:30 a.m. ET).
    
USA Gymnastics will have coverage, photos and videos from Sofia on usagym.org, Facebook and YouTube. Additional information is available on the International Gymnastics Federation’s microsite, sofia2013.fig-gymnastics.com.
 
Trampoline events involve athletes using trampolines that can propel them up to 30 feet in the air, during which they can perform double and triple twisting somersaults. Tumbling utilizes elevated rod-floor runways that enable athletes to jump at heights more than 10 feet and execute a variety of acrobatic maneuvers. For the double-mini competition, the athlete makes a short run, leaps onto a small two-level trampoline, performs an aerial maneuver and dismounts onto a landing mat.  Trampoline was added to the Olympic Games in 2000, and at the 2012 Olympic Games in London, the USA had its first athlete in history advance to the finals.
 

 


Log in