Fans can watch 2013 World Trampoline and Tumbling Championships finals live
posted on 11/07/2013

INDIANAPOLIS, Nov. 7, 2013 - For the first time, USA Gymnastics is providing live online coverage of the individual trampoline semifinals and all medal rounds of the 2013 World Trampoline and Tumbling Championships in Sofia, Bulgaria, beginning Nov. 8. U.S.-based fans can catch the action by going to usagym.org or to USA Gymnastics' YouTube Channel.

Here's the schedule for the finals (click the dates for live video):

  • Nov. 8 - team finals for men's and women's trampoline (7 p.m. Sofia/12 p.m. ET);
  • Nov. 9 - semifinals for men's trampoline (2:30 p.m. Sofia/7:30 a.m. ET);
  • Nov. 9 - Team finals for men's and women's double mini-trampoline and tumbling (5 p.m. Sofia/10 a.m. ET), and finals for women's synchronized trampoline (7:30 p.m. Sofia/12:30 p.m. ET) and men's trampoline (8 p.m. Sofia/1 p.m. ET);
  • Nov. 10 - semifinals for women's trampoline (1:30 p.m. Sofia/6:30 a.m. ET);
  • Nov. 10 - finals for men's and women's double-mini and tumbling, and men's synchronized trampoline (3:30 p.m. Sofia/8:30 a.m. ET); and finals for women's trampoline (6:30 p.m. Sofia/11:30 a.m. ET).

USA Gymnastics will have additional coverage, photos and videos from Sofia on usagym.org, Facebook and YouTube. More event information and live scoring are available on the International Gymnastics Federation's microsite, sofia2013.fig-gymnastics.com.

The USA has already qualified two men and two women to the trampoline semifinals: Logan Dooley of Lake Forest, Calif./World Elite Gymnastics, and Steven Gluckstein of Atlantic Highlands, N.J./ETA; and Charlotte Drury of Laguna Niguel, Calif./World Elite Gymnastics, and Shaylee Dunavin of Amarillo, Texas/All-American.

The remaining qualification rounds on Nov. 8, which will not have video coverage, are men's and women's double mini-trampoline, tumbling, and synchronized trampoline (9:30 a.m.-6 p.m. Sofia/2:30 a.m.-11 a.m. ET).

Trampoline events involve athletes using trampolines that can propel them up to 30 feet in the air, during which they can perform double and triple twisting somersaults. Tumbling utilizes elevated rod-floor runways that enable athletes to jump at heights more than 10 feet and execute a variety of acrobatic maneuvers. For the double-mini competition, the athlete makes a short run, leaps onto a small two-level trampoline, performs an aerial maneuver and dismounts onto a landing mat. Trampoline was added to the Olympic Games in 2000, and at the 2012 Olympic Games in London, the USA had its first athlete in history advance to the finals.


Log in