2013 World Trampoline and Tumbling Championships kick off with trampoline qualifications
posted on 11/06/2013

INDIANAPOLIS, Nov. 6, 2013 – The 2013 World Trampoline and Tumbling Championships in Sofia, Bulgaria, begin Nov. 7 with the qualification round for trampoline. The USA's trampoline squad includes 2012 Olympian Steven Gluckstein of Atlantic Highlands, N.J./ETA, 2012 Olympic alternate Logan Dooley of Lake Forest, Calif./World Elite Gymnastics, and both 2013 U.S. champions, Jeffrey Gluckstein of Atlantic Highlands, N.J./ETA, and Hayley Butcher, St. John, Ind./Midwest Training and Ice Center. The World Championships run through Nov. 10, followed by the 2013 World Trampoline and Tumbling Age Group Competition, Nov. 13-17.

On Nov. 7, the men's qualification session is at 10 a.m. in Sofia/3 a.m. ET, with the women's qualification round beginning at 11 a.m. in Sofia/4 a.m. ET. Based on the U.S. draw for trampoline, the U.S. men are participating in men's group 1, and the U.S. women compete in the women's group 2.

The 18-person U.S. Team also includes two-time World double mini-trampoline silver-medalist Austin White of Newport Coast, Calif./World Elite Gymnastics; Erin Jauch of Crystal Lake, Ill./Fox Valley Tumbling and Trampoline, and Kristle Lowell of Three Rivers, Mich./Branch Gymnastics, who were members of the 2011 women's double mini-trampoline team that won the bronze medal; and Ryan Roberts of Ramona, Calif./So Cal TTC, who along with White were members of the men's 2011 double-mini squad that won the team bronze medal.

The rest of the World Championships' competition schedule is:

  • Nov. 8 – qualification for men's and women's double mini-trampoline, tumbling, and synchronized trampoline (9:30 a.m.-6 p.m. Sofia/2:30 a.m.-11 a.m. ET), and team finals for men's and women's trampoline (7 p.m. Sofia/12 p.m. ET);
  • Nov. 9 – semifinals and finals for men's trampoline (2:30 p.m. Sofia/7:30 a.m. ET, and 8 p.m. Sofia/1 p.m. ET), team finals for men's and women's double mini-trampoline and tumbling (5 p.m. Sofia/10 a.m. ET), and finals for women's synchronized trampoline (7:30 p.m. Sofia/12:30 p.m. ET);
  • Nov. 10 – semifinals and finals for women's trampoline (1:30 p.m. Sofia/6:30 a.m. ET, and 6:30 p.m. Sofia/11:30 a.m. ET), and finals for men's and women's double-mini and tumbling, and men's synchronized trampoline (3:30 p.m. Sofia/8:30 a.m. ET).
The balance of the USA's draw for the qualification round for the World Championships is: men's synchronized trampoline, group 3; women's synchro, groups 1 and 2; men's tumbling, group 4; women's tumbling, group 3; men's double-mini, group 1; and women's double mini, group 1.

The members of the U.S. Team, by event, are listed below.

Trampoline

    Men
    Logan Dooley, Lake Forest, Calif./World Elite Gymnastics
    Jeffrey Gluckstein, Atlantic Highlands, N.J./ETA
    Steven Gluckstein, Atlantic Highlands, N.J./ETA
    Alexi Shostak, Lafayette, La./Trampoline and Tumbling Express
    Alternate: Neil Gulati, Irvine, Calif./World Elite Gymnastics
    Women
    Hayley Butcher, St. John, Ind./Midwest Training and Ice Center
    Charlotte Drury, Laguna Niguel, Calif./World Elite Gymnastics
    Shaylee Dunavin, Amarillo, Texas/All-American
    Deana Parris, Burtonsville, Md./Fairland Gymnastics
Synchronized trampoline
    Men
    Jeffrey Gluckstein/Steven Gluckstein
    Logan Dooley/Neil Gulati
    Women
    Deana Parris/Hayley Butcher
    Shaylee Dunavin/Charlotte Drury
Tumbling
    Men
    Austin Nacey, Braidwood, Ill./TwistStars Tumbling and Trampoline LTD.
    Alex Renkert, Indianapolis, Ind./Geist Sports Academy
    Garret Waterstradt, Paxton, Ill./Irish's Gymnastics
    Women
    Yuliya Stankevich-Brown, Idaho Falls, Idaho/Idaho Elite Gymnastics
Double mini-trampoline
    Men
    Austin Nacey, Braidwood, Ill./TwistStars Tumbling and Trampoline LTD.
    Alex Renkert, Indianapolis, Ind./Geist Sports Academy
    Ryan Roberts, Ramona, Calif./So Cal TTC
    Austin White, Newport Coast, Calif./World Elite Gymnastics
    Alternate: Garret Waterstradt, Paxton, Ill./Irish's Gymnastics
    Women
    Shelby Gill, Ladera Ranch, Calif./Air Sports Unlimited
    Erin Jauch, Crystal Lake, Ill./Fox Valley Tumbling and Trampoline
    Kristle Lowell, Three Rivers, Mich./Branch Gymnastics
    Tristan Van Natta, Pendleton, Ind./Geist Sports Academy
USA Gymnastics will have coverage, photos and videos from Sofia on usagym.org, Facebook and YouTube. Additional information is available on the International Gymnastics Federation's microsite, sofia2013.fig-gymnastics.com.

Trampoline events involve athletes using trampolines that can propel them up to 30 feet in the air, during which they can perform double and triple twisting somersaults. Tumbling utilizes elevated rod-floor runways that enable athletes to jump at heights more than 10 feet and execute a variety of acrobatic maneuvers. For the double-mini competition, the athlete makes a short run, leaps onto a small two-level trampoline, performs an aerial maneuver and dismounts onto a landing mat. Trampoline was added to the Olympic Games in 2000, and at the 2012 Olympic Games in London, the USA had its first athlete in history advance to the finals.


Log in