© Meet Minneapolis

MINNEAPOLIS, April 10, 2013 – The NAIGC (National Association of Intercollegiate Gymnastics Clubs), with support from TheGymNC, is holding its National Championships on April 11–13, 2013, in Minneapolis, Minn. This year’s National Championships, which is the 25th time this event has been held, will bring together 65 clubs and nearly 800 competitors from across the country.

Competition will be held at the Minneapolis Convention Center, with the preliminary rounds held Thursday and Friday from 8:50 a.m. – 11:30 p.m. CT. The finals kick off at noon Central on Saturday. Admission to the event is free; however, donations are accepted.

The men’s field returns nearly all of the top five finishers from last year’s competition, including defending champions Eli Richardson of Texas A&M, floor; Bryce Cashell of Texas State University, vault; Michael Bynum of Texas A&M, all-around. Byrum’s teammate, Eli Richardson, who won the all-around title in 2009-11, is also in the field.

On the women’s side, Zara Karuman from Massachusetts Institute of Technology returns after winning the vault, beam and all-around titles in 2012. She’ll look to add her third-straight vault title. Four out of the top-five finishers on the floor return from last year, including Christina Haire of North Carolina State University, Brooke Hyman of University of Maryland, Karuman, and Molly Stuckey of Texas A&M University. MIT is the two-time defending team champions.