COLUMBUS, Ohio, April 14, 2011 – Four U.S. World Championships Team members are among the 38 current and former U.S. Men’s National Team members who are expected to compete in the 2011 National Collegiate Men’s Gymnastics National Qualifier, which consists of two qualifying sessions, on April 14 at St. John Arena on the campus of Ohio State University in Columbus. Three teams and the top three all-around competitors not on one of the qualifying teams, plus the top three individuals on each event not already qualified on a team or as an all-around competitor, from each qualifying session will advance to the 2011 NCAA Men’s Gymnastics Championships April 15-16.

The four men who have competed in a World Championships for the USA are: Chris Cameron, University of Michigan; Jacob Dalton and Steven Legendre, University of Oklahoma; and Brandon Wynn, Ohio State University. The field includes 10 current and 28 former national team members representing 11 universities.

The members of the current U.S. National Team, by school, are: Ohio State University – Wynn; Stanford University – Joshua Dixon; University of California, Berkeley – Glen Ishino; University of Illinois – Tyler Mizoguchi, Jordan Valdez; University of Michigan – Cameron and Sam Mikulak; and University of Oklahoma – Dalton, Legendre and Alex Naddour. Illinois’ Paul Ruggeri, the alternate for the 2010 World Championships Team, is also a member of the national team but is not competing due to injury.

The former national team members in the field include: Ohio State University – Philip Onorato, Sean Regan; Pennsylvania State University – Miguel Pineda; Stanford University – Alex Buscaglia, Tim Gentry, Paul Hichwa, Ryan Lieberman, Cale Robinson, Sean Senters, Chris Turner; University of California, Berkeley – Donothan Bailey, Kyle Bunthuwong, Bryan del Castillo, Michael del Junco, Daniel Geri; University of Illinois – Yoshi Mori, Cameron Rogers; University of Illinois – Chicago – Mateusz Rybarski, Neal Thompson, Kyle Voissem; University of Iowa – David Dyckman; University of Michigan – Ben Baldus-Strauss, Thomas Kelley, Mel Anton Santander; University of Minnesota – Russell Dabritz, Joshua Wokurka; University of Nebraska – Wyatt Aycock, Cory Baumgarten; and University of Oklahoma – Patrick Piscitelli.

Coming into the championships, Oklahoma is ranked first by the qualifying score, followed by Stanford, U.C. Berkeley, Illinois and Penn State. Live scoring will be available at

The competition schedule is:

Thursday, April 14 National Qualifier
1:00 p.m. – Qualifying Session 1
7:00 p.m. – Qualifying Session 2
Friday, April 15 NCAA Championships
7:00 p.m. – Team and all-around finals
Saturday, April 16 NCAA Championships
7:00 p.m. – Individual event finals

The afternoon session, which begins at 1 p.m. ET, includes Oklahoma, Illinois, Penn State, Minnesota, Air Force Academy and Illinois-Chicago. The evening session, scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. ET, features Stanford, U.C. Berkeley, defending champion Michigan, Ohio State, Nebraska, and Iowa. Each session also has gymnasts who are not with a team and seeking to qualify for the all-around and/or event finals.

Several U.S. Olympians are coaching collegiate teams at the championships: Kip Simons, Air Force; Justin Spring, Illinois; Jim Hartung, Nebraska; Blaine Wilson, Ohio State; Kevin Tan, Penn State; Brett McClure, Stanford.

For more information on the 2011 NCAA Men’s Gymnastics Championship, including seeding and ticket information, go to