My Profile

Awards & Honors History

Academic All-American Program

Encouraging a high level of academic achievement in our young athletes is as important as encouraging their athletic achievement. The USA Gymnastics Men’s Program has therefore established the following Academic All-American Recognition Award program to be presented annually at Regional Championships.

View Program Information

Frank J. Cumiskey Service Award Recipients

The Frank J. Cumiskey Service Award is given as an honor to an individual or individuals for their thoughtful and unselfish contributions to the service of the USA Gymnastics Junior Boy’s Programs. Mr. Frank Cumiskey founded the USA Gymnastics Junior Olympic Program (now called the Development Program) with its present design, format, and character.

View the Recipients

Mas Watanabe Recognition Award

The Mas Watanabe Award is given to recognize achievement through gymnastics competition at the national level. Mas Watanabe remains a leader in gymnastics in the United States. His direction gives purpose to many of his contemporaries in the sport. Mas Watanabe is closely devoted to the athlete. An athlete receiving this award is doubly honored as he has shown outstanding achievement.

View the Recipients

Roberto Pumpido Coaching Excellence Award

Roberto Pumpido was a friend to many and was a well-known coach of coaches. Roberto Pumpido was dedicated to coaching excellence and the true artistic value of gymnastics. He gave the coaching community and the athletes he worked with a unique perspective that not only developed one technically and physically but focused on the proper respect and mental aspects of becoming a champion.

This award seeks to recognize coaching excellence and to continue Roberto’s legacy of communicating the alluring intricacies of gymnastics.

View the Recipients

Dusty Ritter Visionary Award

The Dusty Ritter Visionary Award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated years of exceptional foresight, leadership, and advocacy for the U.S. Men’s Program. More than a service award, the Dusty Ritter Visionary Award identifies individuals who have become well-respected teachers within our community.

View the Recipients

Nissen-Emery Award

Since 1966, college gymnastics’ highest honor, the Nissen Award, has been presented annually to that year’s outstanding senior collegiate gymnast. The “Heisman Trophy” of gymnastics, the Nissen-Emery Award is inscribed with the following motto: “The true champion seeks excellence physically, mentally, socially, and morally.”

Past recipients are listed in the College section of this website.

View the Recipients