© Texas Womans Athletics

SHREVEPORT, La., April 14, 2013 – Texas Woman’s University’s Bethany Larimer won vault and balance beam titles (both ties) to take home the most gold medals on the final day of competition at the 2013 USA Gymnastics Women’s Collegiate National Championships at Centenary College of Louisiana in Shreveport.

The vault final ended in a three-way tie between TWU’s Kristin Edwards, Amy Winczura and Larimer at 9.850.

The University of Pennsylvania’s Kirsten Strausbaugh won the uneven bars crown with her 9.850. The runner-up spot had a three-way tie at 9.800: Katie Hawthorne, U.S. Air Force Academy; Melanie Jorgensen, Cornell University; and Megan Milavec, Penn.

Lindenwood’s Rachel Zabawa and Larimer shared the top honors for the balance beam with their 9.875. The University of Bridgeport’s Sasha Tsikhanovich rounded out the top three with her 9.850.

Tsikhanovich, who also won the all-around title earlier in the meet, easily won the floor exercise title with her 9.925. Edwards finished in second place at 9.875. Meg Crowley of Centenary and Stephanie Repp of TWU tied for third at 9.850.

USA Gymnastics handed out several awards at the conclusion of the event:

  • Outstanding Senior Athlete: Kirsten Strausbaugh (Penn)
  • Mari Rae Soper Award: Lorraine Galow (Bridgeport)
  • Assistant Coach of the Year Award: Annie Alameda (Lindenwood)
  • Ken Anderson Coach of the Year Award: Byron Knox (Bridgeport)
  • USA Gymnastics Appreciation Award: Jackie Fain, Centenary head coach

Earlier in the competition, Bridgeport clinched its fifth consecutive team title.

The eight schools that participated in the team competition were: U.S. Air Force Academy, Texas Woman’s University, Brown University, Cornell University, Seattle Pacific University, University of Pennsylvania, University of Bridgeport and host Centenary. Schools with athletes who competed for an event or all-around title only were: Lindenwood University, Southern Connecticut State University, Temple University, West Chester University and Yale University.