© Champion Images

MESA, Ariz., May 15, 2022 – Iowa snapped Arizona Men’s Gymnastics’ team title streak in their USA Gymnastics Collegiate GymACT Championships debut Saturday at Bell Bank Park in Mesa, Ariz. The club was competing for their first GymACT national title after the varsity program at Iowa was discontinued following the 2020-21 season.

Entering the competition, Arizona Men’s Gymnastics owned the last 14-consecutive team championships and hoped to add a 15th this weekend in front of a home crowd in Mesa, but Iowa, led by senior Evan Davis (Houston, Texas), spoiled the party. The newcomers posted a combined 319.950 en route to the title. Arizona claimed the runner-up spot with a 315.600. Washington was third with a 302.350.

Davis (79.600) clipped teammate Carter Tope (junior, Urbandale, Iowa) by a tenth of a point for the all-around title. Arizona’s Jordan Williams (senior, Tempe, Ariz.) rounded out the top three with a 79.450.

Davis notched the day’s high score on floor exercise with a 14.100, while Tope led the way on pommel horse (13.450) and parallel bars (14.400). Their Iowa teammates Amari Sewell (junior, Landover, Md.) and Zac Tiderman (sophomore, Wilsonville, Ore.) topped the scoresheet on vault (14.600) and horizontal bar (13.600), respectively. Minnesota’s Yaroslav Owens-Pochinka (graduate student, Plano, Texas) set the pace on still rings with a 13.800.

Temple’s Garrett McDaniel (senior, Montgomery, Ala.) received the season’s Outstanding Senior Athlete Award, and Davis was named the N2 Award winner, given to the most-outstanding senior gymnast based on his cumulative collegiate athletic and academic achievements. Minnesota’s Mike Burns was designated the 2022 Coach of the Year. Arizona Men’s Gymnastics’ Rob Survick received Assistant Coach of the Year honors.