MINNEAPOLIS, Minn., March 24, 2010 – The College Gymnastics Association today announced the eight finalists for the 2010 Nissen-Emery Award, the Heisman Trophy for men’s collegiate gymnastics. Since 1966, the Nissen-Emery Award has been presented annually to that year’s outstanding senior collegiate gymnast. The 2010 recipient will be announced during the 2010 NCAA Men’s Gymnastics National Championships in West Point, N.Y.

This year’s eight finalists are (in alphabetical order):

  • Jon Buese, University of Iowa
  • David Chan, University of Michigan
  • Aaron Fortunato, University of Minnesota
  • Derek Gygax, College of William & Mary
  • Nick Noone, Stanford University
  • Kyle Shanahan, University of Nebraska
  • Luke Stannard, University of Illinois
  • Andrew Stover, Illinois-Chicago

In addition to gymnastics excellence, the recipient must also demonstrate good sportsmanship and a sense of fair play; and maintain a high standard of scholarship throughout his collegiate career.

College gymnastics coaches, student athletes and accredited college gymnastics judges submit nominations for the award. Gymnasts receiving the highest number of nominations are selected as finalists, and the winner is chosen through balloting by those same coaches, athletes and judges.

From 1966-89 the award nomination, selection and presentation process was managed by the Nissen Company. IBM sponsored the award in 1990. USA Gymnastics sponsored the award from 1991-97. In 1998, Dr. Robert W. Emery, the 1969 winner, agreed to help the CGA finance the redesigning of the award and establish an endowment to cover its annual expenses.