© TWU Athletics

Velandra Brochi of Air Force won the all-around title as team and individual event finalists were determined Thursday at the 2023 USA Gymnastics Women’s Collegiate National Championships in Denton, Texas.

After two semifinal sessions, The U.S. Air Force Academy, Lindenwood University, Southeast Missouri State University and reigning champions Texas Women’s University all advanced to Friday’s team final, set for 8 p.m. ET. In the first semifinal, Lindenwood’s 195.625 led Air Force and Brown, who were second and third, respectively, with scores of 193.850 and 193.050. Southern Connecticut State University was fourth with a 192.850.

During the second semifinal round, host TWU claimed the top qualifying spot with a 195.475, while Southeastern Missouri scored a 194.300 to advance. West Chester University landed third with a 192.825 and Yale University fourth with a 192.475.

In individual competition, Brochi clinched all-around gold with a 39.125, just ahead of Lindenwood’s Jaly Jones in second with a 39.100. Yale’s Sarah Wilson placed third, scoring a 38.825. Brochi posted a 9.800 on floor exercise and a 9.775 on vault, uneven bars and balance beam.

On floor exercise, Morgan Price of Fisk and Mara Johnson of Texas Women’s tied as top qualifiers with a 9.900. Lindenwood’s Hannah Appleget led the way on uneven bars with a 9.825 while teammate Nya Kraus set the bar on balance beam with a 9.850. Brown’s Abby Contello ranked first on vault with a 9.825.

The top five gymnasts on each apparatus from each semifinal, with a limit of three per school, have qualified to Saturday’s individual event finals beginning at 2 p.m. ET. All qualifiers are listed alphabetically by apparatus below.

Julia Bedell – Brown
Sydney Beers – Cornell
Amber Boll – Air Force
Alexa Bracher – Southern Conn.
Abby Contello – Brown
Maddie Gose – Texas Women’s
Maddie Greene – Southeast Missouri
Gayla Griswold – Lindenwood
Lindsay Ockler – Southeast Missouri
Sherry Wang – Yale
Daisy Woodring – Texas Women’s

Uneven Bars
Hannah Appleget – Lindenwood
Velandra Brochi – Air Force
Kaylee Cooper – Lindenwood
Brooke Ferrari – Texas Women’s
Jolie Miller – Southeast Missouri
Hannah Moon – Lindenwood
Lindsay Ockler – Southeast Missouri
Ella Poley – Brown
Lydia Webb – Southeast Missouri
Tay Wilson – Centenary

Balance Beam
Amber Boll – Air Force
Velandra Brochi – Air Force
Briona Carswell – Air Force
Gayla Griswold – Lindenwood
Nicole Javinett – Bridgeport
Nya Kraus – Lindenwood
Kenzie Kunzman – Texas Women’s
Riley Meeks – Yale
Liberty Mora – Fisk
Alix Pierce – Texas Women’s
Madison Rush – Lindenwood
Emily Six – Texas Women’s

Floor Exercise
Julia Bedell – Brown
Sydney Beers – Cornell
Zyia Coleman – Fisk
Maya Davis – Brown
Maddie Gose – Texas Women’s
Gayla Griswold – Lindenwood
Mara Johnson – Texas Women’s
Jaly Jones – Lindenwood
McKenna Kissinger – West Chester
Carissa Martinez – Centenary
Alix Pierce – Texas Women’s
Morgan Price – Fisk
Sarah Wilson – Yale