© John Cheng

Simone Biles of Spring, Texas/World Champions Centre, is one of six finalists for the Amateur Athletic Union Sullivan Award, which honors the most outstanding United States amateur athlete. Finalists were selected not only based on their athletic accomplishments, but also by their demonstration of premier leadership, character and sportsmanship. Online voting is open to the public, and to vote for Biles, CLICK HERE. Votes can be cast once a day until March 25. The winner will be announced on April 19 in New York City.

"I am so honored to be one of the AAU Sullivan Award finalists,” said Biles, who won her second straight U.S. and World all-around titles in 2014. “Thank you to all who voted and supported me, and congratulations to the other finalists."

The other finalists are Shawn Barber (pole vault), Meryl Davis & Charlie White (figure skating), Ezekiel Elliott (football), Katie Ledecky (swimming), and Jahlil Okafor (college basketball).

In its 85th year, the award is a salute to AAU founder and amateur sports pioneer, James E. Sullivan. The finalists will attend the award ceremony at the New York Athletic Club (NYAC) on Sunday, April 19.

Select tickets are available to the public. For tickets, contact AAU’s Pam Kirby Marshall via phone: 407-934-7200 or email: [email protected]. Tickets for a guest 20 years of age and under are $35, while tickets for a guest 21+ are $100.

Three gymnasts have won the prestigious award: Kurt Thomas, Paul Hamm and Shawn Johnson. The list of previous winners also includes: Bobby Jones (1930), Doc Blanchard (1945), Wilma Rudolph (1961), Bill Bradley (1965), Mark Spitz (1970), Bill Walton (1973), Bruce Jenner (1976), Carl Lewis (1981), Joan Benoit (1985), Janet Evans (1989), Peyton Manning (1997), Michael Phelps (2003), Tim Tebow (2007), and Missy Franklin (2012).

For more info on the AAU, award and ceremony, including voting, past winners, event details and nominee bios, visit www.aausullivan.org.