ANNAPOLIS, Md., March 18, 2014 – The U.S. Air Force Academy’s men’s gymnastics team makes its bid for a fifth straight USA Gymnastics collegiate national title this weekend when the 2014 USA Gymnastics Collegiate National Championships get underway at the U.S. Naval Academy, March 21-22. In addition, all six 2013 all-around medalists and six event champions are returning to defend their titles.

The two-day meet, featuring five Varsity Division teams and two Collegiate Club Division teams, has a 108-man field and will be held at the Academy’s Macdonough Hall. Competition begins March 21 at 3:50 p.m. ET with the opening ceremonies, team and all-around finals, as well as the event preliminaries. The championships wrap up on Saturday, March 22, with individual event finals at 2 p.m. ET.

At the men’s USA Gymnastics Collegiate Championships, the team competition is divided into two categories, varsity and collegiate. The varsity competition is for Division I, II, or III, four-year institutions with gymnastics as a varsity sport which provide two or less full scholarships as well as the military academies, and the collegiate team category is for two-year or four-year degree-granting schools with gymnastics as a club sport.

The schools in this year’s field are: Varsity Division – College of William and Mary, Springfield College, U.S. Air Force Academy, U.S. Military Academy and U.S. Naval Academy; and Collegiate Club Division – Arizona State University and University of Washington. The College at Brockport has gymnasts entered in the individual events.

Air Force currently leads the field, ranked 10th nationally in the March 17 rankings. Among Varsity Division teams, William & Mary, Army and Navy are ranked 12-14, respectively, and Springfield is 17th. Arizona State currently leads the Collegiate Club Division teams at 15, with Washington ranked 19th. Both Air Force and ASU are defending team champions.

In 2013, William & Mary’s Daniel Potemski won the varsity all-around, with William & Mary’s Keaton Ackerman and Navy’s Chris Junghans taking second and third. The Collegiate Club Division’s all-around medalists, all from ASU, were Alex Gaudaur (gold), Lee Wilkerson (silver) and Stephen Gragg (bronze). The gymnasts looking to defend their event 2013 titles are: Neal Courter, William & Mary, floor exercise and vault; Nick Owen, Air Force, pommel horse; Landon Funiciello, William & Mary, still rings and parallel bars; and Nicholas Gaudlip, Air Force, parallel bars.

Ticket Information
Tickets to the events will be available for purchase daily at the entrance to the gymnasium at Macdonough Hall. Admission is $10 per person per day.

Parking/Shuttle Information
Fans are reminded that the general public does not have access to drive their vehicles on to the U.S. Naval Academy. Fans may park at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium for $5 and take a shuttle that will run every 10 minutes starting at 3 PM on Friday and running until one hour after the event is complete. Saturday’s shuttle runs will begin at 1 PM.

Spectators who wish to park in downtown Annapolis will need to enter the Academy through the visitors entrance located at Gate One on King George Street.

2014 USA Gymnastics Championships field roster
Listed by division, by school

Varsity Division

    College of William and Mary
    Keaton Ackerman, Penfield, N.Y.
    Simon Casey, Natick, Mass.
    Neal Courter, Baton Rouge, La.
    Michael Deitz, Manassas, Va.
    Landon Funiciello, Baldwinsville, N.Y.
    J.J. Jindra, Fairfax, Va.
    Rob Meyer, Maryville, Tenn.
    Sam Patterson, Winnetka, Ill.
    Daniel Potemski, Round Rock, Texas
    Aria Sabbagh, Kansas City, Mo.
    Peter Ten Eyck, Cincinnti, Ohio
    Jason Wang, Tigard, Ore.

    Springfield College
    Desmond Carr, Hickory, N.C.
    Billy Chin, Worcester, Mass.
    Brian Cogan, Fairfax, Va.
    Garrett DeSantis, Manalapan, N.J.
    Sam Docherty, Upton, Mass.
    Andy Grabonski, Victor, N.Y.
    Pat Hanley, Abington, Mass.
    Jame Hennin, Auckland, New Zealand
    Tim Lebossiere, Braintree, Mass.
    Tucker McClure, San Jose, Calif.
    Ryan Ponce, Tolland, Conn.
    Pat Ryther, Boston, Mass.
    Ian Stratton, Elizabeth City, N.C.
    Derek Taranto, Westborough, Mass.
    Jon Zirna, Buffalo, N.Y.

    U.S. Air Force Academy
    Denis Aurelius, Plain City, Ohio
    Skyler Awisus, Reno, Nev.
    Chase Cannon, Knoxville, Tenn.
    Gared Chapman, Casselberry, Fla.
    Greg Chaput, Worcester, Mass.
    Pat Duffy, Albuquerque, N.M.
    Nick Gaudlip, Colorado Springs, Colo.
    Tyler Huebner, San Antonio, Texas
    Aaron Nubine, Edmond, Okla.
    Nick Owen, Grayson, Ga.
    Corbin Palmer, Frisco, Texas
    Josh Ramos, Broken Arrow, Okla.
    Mac Ritchie, Concord, N.C.
    Jon Spiro, Laguna Niguel, Calif.
    Chris Stephenson, Fishers, Ind.
    Tim Wang, Riverside, Calif.

    U.S. Military Academy
    Andrew Avelino, Trabuco Canyon, Calif.
    Jeremy Cahill, Highlands Ranch, Colo.
    Jacob Davies, Houston, Texas
    Alex Ganz, Danville, Calif.
    Leo Genders, Lancaster, Ohio
    Jesse Glenn, Porter Ranch, Calif.
    Ian Howard, Spokane Valley, Wash.
    Sam Kusnitz, Greensboro, N.C.
    Nick Miles, Salem, N.H.
    Joe Pritts, Cygnet, Ohio
    Chris Short, Vancouver, Wash.
    Connor Venrick, Centennial, Colo.
    Kip Webber, Boxborough, Mass.
    Michael York, Vacaville, Calif.

    U.S. Naval Academy
    John-Charles Arion, Plano, Texas
    Zachary Ceroli, Angier, N.C.
    Michael Dorsey, Hollywood, Fla.
    David Frick, St. Johns, Fla.
    Joshua Gong, Oxnard, Calif.
    Connor Gonzales, Glen Ellyn, Ill.
    Thomas Goodell, Hopkinton, Mass.
    Evan Jones, Stoneham, Mass.
    Chris Junghans, Dunkirk, Md.
    Wyatte LaPoint, Mechanicsburg, Pa.
    Mitchell Larios, Frisco, Texas
    Eric Morrison, Broomfield, Colo.
    Jacob Moses, Windsor, Colo.
    Eric Poletti, Lancaster, Pa.
    Andrew Potts, Ellicott City, Md.
    Joshua Steves, Houston, Texas
    Jonathan Tang, Malvern, Pa.
    Eric Viscardi, Marietta, Ga.
    Connor Westrick, Waterford, Wis.

Collegiate Division

    Arizona State University
    Riley Barclay, Chandler, Ariz.
    Jared Chin, Portland, Ore.
    Hans Degnan, Exeter, N.H.
    Aren Durham, Valley Park, Mo.
    Landon Fischer, Clovis, Calif.
    Stephen Gragg, Boulder, Colo.
    Thomas Hanson, Mesa, Ariz.
    Mato (Ty) Loughridge, Novosibirsk, Russia
    Stewart MacDonald, Phoenix, Ariz.
    Brian Malone, Brockton, Mass.
    Zackery Mollett, Billings, Mont.
    Jared Newman, Palmer, Ark.
    Zach Pietsch, Millersville, Mo.
    Michael Repp, Albuquerque, N.M.
    Alex Roesler, Phoenix, Ariz.
    Vincent (Chase) Van De Motter, Peachtree City, Calif.
    Lee Wilkerson, Locust Grove, Ga.

    College at Brockport
    Dave Albaranes, Massapequa, N.Y.
    Ron Ayello, Yorktown Heights, N.Y.
    Matt Power, Holtsville, N.Y.
    Justin Sullivan, Tonawanda, N.Y.

    University of Washington
    Alex Maybruck, Seattle, Wash.
    Peter Moser, Everett, Wash.
    Aaron Moss, Shoreline, Wash.
    Layton Oka, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho
    Justin Rowen, Rocklin, Calif.
    Max Soifer, Tacoma, Wash.
    Greg Steward, Lynnwood, Wash.
    Franklin Stutevoss, Portland, Ore.
    Cory Tsai, Woodinville, Wash.
    Brandon Waller, West Linn, Ore.
    Wyatt Zmrzel, Rocklin, Calif.