© John Cheng

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. – The votes are cast and the numbers are in. Now, finalists Simone Biles, Shawn Barber, Ezekiel Elliott, Jahlil Okafor, Katie Ledecky and Meryl Davis & Charlie White are anxiously waiting for the AAU Sullivan Award winner to be announced at the esteemed New York Athletic Club on Sunday, April 19th.

Select event tickets are available to the public, but for those that aren’t able to attend, a live stream of the event will be available at www.aausports.org/sullivan. The live stream will begin at 2:00pm ET and will feature the entire ceremony, including speeches from the finalists and special guests and the announcement of the 85th winner of the award.

Biles is honored to be selected for such a prestigious award.

"I am so honored to be one of the AAU Sullivan Award Finalists,” Biles said. “Thank you to all who voted and supported me, and congratulations to the other finalists."

Now, in its 85th year, the AAU Sullivan Award is the one of the most prestigious amateur sports awards and is a salute to AAU founder and amateur sports pioneer, James E. Sullivan. Finalists were selected not only based on their athletic accomplishments, but also by their demonstration of premier leadership, character and sportsmanship.

Only one finalist will join the illustrious list of previous winners which include: Bobby Jones (1930), Doc Blanchard (1945), Wilma Rudolph (1961), Bill Bradley (1965), Mark Spitz (1970), Bill Walton (1973), Bruce Jenner (1976), Carl Lewis (1981), Joan Benoit (1985), Janet Evans (1989), Peyton Manning (1997), Michael Phelps (2003), Tim Tebow (2007), Missy Franklin (2012) and dozens of others.

Media interested in attending the award ceremony, interviewing finalists (live or remotely), receiving post-ceremony photos / releases, etc. should contact: Rachel D’Orazio, AAU Marketing, at [email protected] or 407-828-3132.

For more info on the AAU, award and ceremony, including voting, past winners, event details and nominee bios, visit www.aausullivan.org.

About AAU
Founded in 1888, the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) is one of the largest, non-profit, volunteer, sports organizations in the United States. The “Sports for All, Forever” philosophy is shared by close to 670,000 participants and over 50,000 volunteers. The AAU annually licenses more than 35 sports programs, 250 national championships, and over 30,000 age division events. AAU alumni include LeBron James, Amar’e Stoudemire, Diana Taurasi, Madison Bumgarner and Justin Verlander. A multi-sport organization, the AAU is dedicated exclusively to the development of amateur sports www.aausports.org.